Normandale President Joyce Ester to receive National Award from Phi Theta Kappa

By Steven Geller - Director of Media and Public Relations

Normandale Community College President Joyce Ester was one of 35 community college presidents in the nation named a Shirley B. Gordon award winner by Phi Theta Kappa (PTK).

The award honors college presidents who have demonstrated outstanding effort toward promoting the goals of PTK. The award is named in honor of the late Dr. Shirley B. Gordon, longtime chair of the PTK Board of Directors and president emeritus of Highline College in Washington.

Ester will officially receive the award on April 19-21 during Phi Theta Kappa's annual convention in Kansas City Missouri.

She is one of four community college presidents in the State of Minnesota to receive the honors. Minnesota had the second-highest total of recipients of these honors among the 35 presidents who will receive the award.