Normandale Dental Hygiene Instructor Stephanie Zarse receives National Award for Teaching Excellence

By Steven Geller - Director of Media and Public Relations

Normandale Community College Dental Hygiene Instructor Stephanie Zarse was one of 23 national recipients of the American Association of Community Colleges (AACC) Dale P. Parnell Distinguished Faculty designation.

The award, which is named in honor of former AACC President and CEO Dale P. Parnell, has been established to recognize individuals making a different in the classroom. It also recognizes faculty members who have demonstrated passion for students and the classroom, showed willingness to support students inside and outside of the classroom, and gone above and beyond what is required to ensure that students are successful in their academic endeavors.

Normandale is one of only 14 colleges in the nation and two in Minnesota to have an instructor receive this award in 2020 and 2021. Last year, History Instructor Jack Norton received the same award.

Zarse was also one of seven Minnesota State Colleges and Universities Board of Trustee Educators of the Year in 2020. Minnesota was one of only four states in the nation to have multiple colleges represented among the recipients.

There will be a recognition ceremony for the Dale P. Parnell Distinguished Faculty on May 20, 2021 from 4:30 to 5:15 p.m. (CT) at AACC Digital.