Normandale Workforce Development Scholarship Recipients

By Steven Geller - Director of Media and Public Relations

First row (left to right) – Daina Matan Gnoumba (Apple Valley – Nursing); Linda Maka Ghomsi (Eden Prairie – Computer Technology); Lauren Lopez (Cologne – Nursing); Lauren Fauth (Excelsior – Dental Hygiene); Ariyanna Watts (Shakopee – Nursing); Vianna Papasodora (Minneapolis – Dental Hygiene); Benjamin Yakah (Bloomington – Computer Technology.  Second row (left to right) - Loetitia Pango Tchokothe (Eden Prairie – Nursing); Mercedes Moulton (Duluth – Nursing); Franchesca DuFour (Hastings – Dental Hygiene); Fausto Rodela-Rodriguez (Faribault – Dental Hygiene); Jacob Smith (Chanhassen – Computer Technology); Daniel Smith (Waconia – Computer Technology) Not pictured – Jessica Davis (Minneapolis – Dental Hygiene)

Normandale Community College recently announced 14 students who are Workforce Development Scholarship recipients. The scholarship recipients are students who will be pursuing degrees in the in-demand fields of Computer Technology, Dental Hygiene, and Nursing.

On Tuesday, May 16, Normandale hosted a Workforce Development Scholarship Ceremony to honor the recipients. The scholarships will begin in Fall Semester 2018, and students will receive $2,500 over the course of the academic year. Students must be enrolled in a minimum nine credits per semester and earn a 2.0 or better GPA and stay in good academic standing.

In 2017, the Legislature created the Workforce Development Scholarship program and appropriated $1 million in FY2019 to Minnesota State to encourage students to enroll in high-demand programs at all state colleges. Minnesota State piloted the scholarship program, awarding $2,500 scholarships to 400 new students. 

The following is the list of recipients:

Jessica Davis (Dental Hygiene)
Franchesca DuFour (Dental Hygiene)
Lauren Fauth (Dental Hygiene)
Lauren Lopez (Nursing)
Linda Maka Ghomsi (Computer Technology)
Daina Matan Gnoumba (Nursing)
Mercedes Moulton (Nursing)
Loetitia Pango Tchokothe (Nursing)
Vianna Papasodora (Dental Hygiene)
Fausto Rodela-Rodriguez (Dental Hygiene)
Daniel Smith (Computer Technology)
Jacob Smith (Computer Technology)
Ariyanna Watts (Nursing)
Benjamin Yakah (Computer Technology)