Normandale representatives receive Phi Theta Kappa honors

By Steven Geller - Director of Media and Public Relations

Normandale Community College will have two representatives honored with awards at the Phi Theta Kappa national convention in Orlando, Fla. on April 24-26, as Milla Bartz will receive a Paragon Award for chapter officers and Amanda Lilgreen will get a Paragon Award for new advisors.

Bartz will be one of 30 PTK members honored as a Distinguished Chapter Officer Award. The recipients of the award are chosen based on a student's demonstration of leadership, promotion of Honors in Action, other engagement in the Society, and enthusiasm for the Hallmark of the Society (Scholarship, Leadership, Service and Fellowship). The honorees were selected from more than 450 nominees internationally.

Lilgren will be one of 30 PTK individuals to receive a Paragon Award for New Advisors. The award recognizes advisors who have served less than four years, and have made significant contributions to the growth of the individual chapter members, served as the chapter' s advocate on campus, and encouraged the chapter to be involved on the local, regional and/or international level of the organization. The 30 award winners were selected from over 100 nominees worldwide.

Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society, headquartered in Jackson, Mississippi, is the largest honor society in higher education with 1,285 chapters on college campuses in all 50 of the United States, plus Canada, Germany, the Republic of Palau, Peru, the Republic of the Marshall Islands, the Federated States of Micronesia, the British Virgin Islands, the United Arab Emirates and U.S. territorial possessions. Nearly 3 million students have been inducted since its founding in 1918, with approximately 131,000 students inducted annually.