Normandale English Department announces 2018 Patsy Lea Core Memorial Award Winners

By Steven Geller - Director of Media and Public Relations

The Normandale English Department is pleased to share the winners of the 2018 Patsy Lea Core Living Memorial Award in Creative Writing. The winners were recognized and read from their work alongside guest judges in an Awards Night event and reading on April 20.

The following students received awards: 

Fiction: First place in Fiction, Jane O'Shea; second place, Katie Miller-Chang; third place, Rachel Lindo.   

Poetry: First place in Poetry, Anna Gergen; second place, Gabriel Mianulli; third place, Katherine Ichniose.   

This year's guest judge in fiction was Chris Fischbach. Fischbach became publisher of Coffee House Press in July 2011, after 16 years in various editorial roles. He has served as co-chair of the Minneapolis Arts Commission and as assistant director of the Twin Cities Book Festival, and currently sits on the board of directors of the Friends of the Hennepin County Library.

This year's guest judge in poetry is Michael Bazzett, the author of The Interrogation (Milkweed Editions); Our Lands Are Not So Different (Horsethief Books); and You Must Remember This, which received the Lindquist & Vennum Prize for Poetry. His poems have appeared in numerous publications, including Ploughshares, The Sun, The American Poetry Review, Tin House, and The Iowa Review. A longtime faculty member at The Blake School, Bazzett has received the Bechtel Prize from Teachers & Writers Collaborative and a fellowship from the National Endowment for the Arts.