Faculty Development


Center for Teaching and Learning (CTL)

The Center for Teaching and Learning (CTL) at Normandale is made up of six faculty members from across the college dedicated to advancing student learning by helping colleagues refine their teaching.  Here is a link to the Chalk and Pixels Blog


D2L Brightspace Help

Kathleen Coate, Normandale's D2L Trainer, is offering several workshops for Summer 2018.
Click here for the D2L Brightspace Summer Workshop Schedule

In addition, the following appointment times for one-on-one help are available. (Feel free to drop-by during these hours as well, but priority will be given to pre-made appointments)

Location: L1735
To make an appointment: Call Kathleen at 952-358-8617, or email kathleen.coate@normandale.edu

Wed May 30 12-4pm
Thurs May 31 12-3pm
Mon June 4 9am-2pm
Tues June 5 9am-12pm
Wed June 6 9am-12pm
Thurs June 7 9am-12pm
Thurs June 14 12-3pm
Tues July 10 9am-11am
Tues July 31 9:30-11:30am; 12:30-2pm
Mon  Aug. 6 9am-12pm
Tues Aug. 7 10am-12pm
Mon Aug. 20 9am-2pm

Here are links to online support from Minnesota State and Brightspace:

Faculty MN State D2L Brightspace Helpdesk

D2L Brightspace Resource Center

D2L Brightspace Community


Professional Development Center (PDC)

The Professional Development Center (PDC) provides Normandale employees with services to help learn new technology skills, discover new ideas for creating engaging content, and use tools to be more efficient in your job. Small group and individual training takes place in this space located in the basement of the Library building (L1735). 

Equipment available for use in the PDC

  • "iMac"
  • Windows 10 computers (1 with Camtasia Studio)
  • Large screen monito for small-group webinars

Professional Development Center (Rm. L1735)


Technical Assistance

You can schedule an appointment to get answers about D2L Brightspace, online interactive media, instructional design and more. Contact the Online Education Staff to find out more.