Campus Life

About Student Life at Normandale

Student Life at Normandale shares in the educational mission at Normandale Community College to enrich the college experience through programs and services designed to promote holistic development, leadership and civic engagement in our changing world.

We value


  • Education experiences that assist students in understanding and celebrating their global and multicultural environments.
  • Development of leaders with life and work skills to be successful in our global community.
  • Initiatives and alliances with community organization, employers, and other education institutions.
  • Opportunities for our students to learn from theory by engaging in practical application.
  • Quality teaching, accessible programs, and supportive services that respond to the changing needs of our students and community.
  • Passion in all that we do as role models for ethical behavior, educational curiosity, and acceptance.

Pillars of Leadership program

This 10-week leadership seminar is a cohort-based program where you can learn different leadership strategies, theories, and strengths, how to effectively communicate, how to be an inclusive leader, and many other skills alongside 20 of your fellow students. This course is provided at no cost to you as a student and runs each semester. It is available both face-to-face in a classroom, as well as online.

Those who complete the program receive a letter of recognition from our College President, Dr. Joyce Ester. For more information on this unique and transformative program, please contact Emily Pripas.

FITNESS, RECREATION AND WELLNESS

On campus there are numerous ways to be active, build and maintain a health lifestyle. 

Fitness Facilities

Click here for hours and more information about our fitness center, gymnasium, and group fitness studio facilities on campus. All current students have access to our facilities at no charge. 

Wellness

At Normandale, we care about your holistic well-being in body, mind and spirit. Not only do we want to see you succeed intellectually in your academics, but also in the physical, mental, social, emotional, environmental, occupational and spiritual areas of your life. Click here to learn more about opportunities to improve your well-being here at Normandale. 

Please contact Justin Martin, with any questions about fitness, recreation and wellness at Normandale. 

Recreational Activities

Normandale has a variety of recreational activities to participate in that range from leisure time activities to competitive sports. Students can meet others with similar interests, while sharpening and developing new sports skills in an activity they enjoy. Learn more about:

L.E.A.D. Program

Normandale's L.E.A.D Program is a comprehensive experiential learning program that provides teambuilding and leadership challenges to its participants. It focuses on leadership, excellence, action, and development. The program consists of various team challenge initiatives that are rooted in the experiential learning process, in which students are presented with problem-solving situations and are challenged in a supportive environment. After each activity, the facilitator discusses with the group what they learned and how it can be applied to their group and their lives. Learning outcomes for each activity align with the core competencies from "On Course: Strategies for Creating Sucess in College and in Life," used in our NCC1000 courses.

The L.E.A.D. Program is designed specifically for each unique group and is a great complement to any course curriculum and an engaging way to strengthen clubs or teams. For more information please contact Justin Martin at justin.martin@normandale.edu

To request a L.E.A.D. Program experience for your goup, please fill out the following form: https://goo.gl/forms/DobouU2Ga04FGme12

Kopp Student Center

The Kopp Student Center is the hub of community life at Normandale. In addition, we've gathered together links to the most frequently used student life services at left. Please check them out and if you still have questions or concerns, contact us directly. We are here to help you get the most out of your life at Normandale!

Diversity Center

Our Mission:


To promote awareness, understanding, and acceptance across all diverse groups throughout the Normandale Community College campus and beyond.

Our Vision:


The Diversity center was created to enhance the educational experience at Normandale Community College; both inside and outside the academic classroom. The Normandale Diversity Center understands that diversity goes far beyond race and nationality thus the Center embraces inclusivity of all. The Diversity Center is an all-inclusive space that nutures a sense of belonging, promotes healthy dialogue, and provides opportunities to strengthen the multicultural fabric of our Normandale community.

What We Do:


  • Cultural Programming
  • DE&I Dialogues
  • Leadership Development
  • Community Building
  • Promote Cultural Awareness & Acceptance
  • Continual Education & Awareness Planning

EVERYONE is welcome at the Diversity Center in the Kopp Student Center, Room K-1439.

Open Hours:

Many clubs and other groups meet in the Diversity Center throughout the week. If you would like to reserve the space for your club or organization, please contact the Campus Events Assistant, Carol Daniel. We will have open hours and quiet study hours during the following times:

Tuesday: 12:30-3pm - Quiet Study Hours

Wednesday: 9am-12pm - Open Hours

Thursday: 10am-12pm - Quiet Study Time and 12:30-2:30pm - Open Hours

Friday: 10am-12pm - Quiet Study Hours

Hours are subject to change without prior notice for meetings and staffing needs.

Student Clubs and Organizations

CLUBS AND ORGANIZATIONS

We have many active clubs and organizations at Normandale. Our clubs and organizations are a great way to get connected to the campus, meet new people, and bond over a shared interest or identity.

If you don't see a club or organization you are interested in, you can certainly start your own. Click here for more information on how to start your own club.If you are interested in joining a club or organization but have questions on how to get started, just contact Justin Martin, Director of Student Life for more information.Student Life Club Handbook

If you are a current club, click here to access the Student Life Club Handbook. 

Student Clubs

Student Clubs offer ways to get involved and enhance your experience at Normandale. If you don't see the club you want to join, start one! Visit the Starting a Club page for more information!

Meeting times listed below frequently change. Contact the club advisor to confirm meeting time and location.

ABC (Applying Biology to Community) Club

Meetings:  TBD

Contact Advisor:  Deb Carlson l Deb.Carlson@normandale.edu

American Sign Language Club

Meetings: Mondays from 2:30-3:30pm in L1747

Contact Advisor:  Lauren Schuman l Lauren.Schumann@normandale.edu

Anime Club

Meetings: Mondays from 3-5pm K1450, Thursday from 3-5pm K1426

Contact Advisor:  Carol Daniel l Carol.Daniel@normandale.edu 

Anthropology and Archaeology Club

Contact Advisor: Susan Krook l Susan.Krook@normandale.edu

Astronomy Club

Meetings: Thursdays from 4-5pm in S1328

Contact Advisor: Justin Martin l Justin.Martin@normandale.edu

Badminton Club

Contact Advisor: Jay Kay l Jay.Kam@normandale.edu

Be Heard Be Seen Be Known Club

Contact Advisor: Loli Dillon l Loli.Dillon@normandale.edu

Black Student Alliance

Meetings: Mondays from 1-2pm in K1439 and Wednesdays 1-2pm in K1450

Contact AdvisorJustin Martin l Justin.Martin@normandale.edu

Boxing Club

Meetings: Mondays 2:15-3:15pm and Thursdays 2:45-3:45pm in the Gym

Contact Advisor: Aimee Bolton l Aimee.Bolton@normandale.edu

Business and Investing Club

Contact Advisor: Gerald Swarsensky l Gerald.Swarsensky@normandale.edu

Chemistry Club

Contact Advisor: Ruth Robinson l Ruth.Robinson@normandale.edu 

Chi Alpha

Meetings: Mondays 2:30-3:30pm in K1429

Contact Advisor: Analise Williams l Analise.Williams@normandale.edu

Christian Student Fellowship

Meetings: Tuesdays and Wednesdays from 12-2pm in K0434/0436

Contact Advisor: Sharon Harvey l Sharon.Harvey@normandale.edu

Creative Writing Club

Meetings:Tuesday 3-4:30pm in A1570

Contact Advisor: Thomas Maltman l Thomas.Maltman@normandale.edu

Dance Club

Contact Advisor: Doug Claycomb l Douglas.Claycomb@normandale.edu

Dawah

Meetings: Fridays from 1-2pm in A1560

Contact Advisor: Justin Martin l Justin.Martin@normandale.edu

Drama Club

Meetings: Wedesdays from 3-4pm in Blackbox Theater (F1221)

Contact Advisor: Annie Cady l Ann.Cady@normandale.edu

Exercise Science Club

Contact Advisor: Angela Effertz l Angela.Effertz@normandale.edu

French Club

Meetings: Thursdays from 2-4pm in K1439

Contact Advisor: Catherine Pulling l Catherine.Pulling@normandale.edu

Future Educators Association

Meetings: Wednesdays from 12-1pm in P1842

Contact Advisor: Linette Manier l Linette.Manier@normandale.edu

Gender and Sexuality Alliance (GSA)

Meetings: Fridays from 12-3pm in K1439

Contact Advisor: Nancy Johnson l Nancy.Johnson@normandale.edu

Hospitality and Tourism Club

Contact Advisor: Brandon Supernault l Brandon.Supernault@normandale.edu

Japanese Culture Club

Meetings: Thursdays from 4-5pm in K1439

Contact Advisor: Yoshi Satoh l Yoshi.Satoh@normandale.edu

Juggling Club

Meetings: Tuesdays from 10-11am in A1560

Contact Advisor: Sharon Harvey l Sharon.Harvey@normandale.edu

League Club

Contact Advisor: Justin Martin l Justin.Martin@normandale.edu

LUNA Club (Latinos United at Normandale in Action)

Meetings: Wednesdays from 1-2pm in K1426 and K1439

Contact Advisor: Javier Salinas Vega l Javier.SalinasVega@normandale.edu

Math Club

Meetings: Mondays from 11am-12pm in C3140

Contact Advisor: Patrick Fingerson l Patrick.Fingerson@normandale.edu

Meditation Club

Meetings: Wednesdays from 10-11am in S2330

Contact Advisor: Nancy Johnson l Nancy.Johnson@normandale.edu

MGT (Magic Club)

Meetings: Tuesdays from 3-6pm in K1426

Contact Advisor: Justin Martin l Justin.Martin@normandale.edu

Mu Alpha Theta (Math Honor Society)

Meetings: Wednesdays from 11am-12pm in C3101

Contact Advisor: Julie Nybakken l Julie.Nybakken@normandale.edu

Music Club

Meetings: Mondays from 11am-1pm and Thursdays from 2-4pm in K0434/0436

Contact Advisor: Marc Jaros l Marc.Jaros@normandale.edu

Muslim Student Association

Meetings: Wednesday 2-3pm K1450

Contact AdvisorWillie Johnson l Willie.Johnson@normandale.edu

Nursing Club

Meetings: 1st Friday of every month A2552

Contact AdvisorCynthia Popp-Cronin l Cynthia.Popp-Cronin@normandale.edu

Outdoors Club

Contact Advisor: Aimee Bolton l Aimee.Bolton@normandale.edu

Politics and Law Club

Contact Advisor: Elizabeth Klages l Elizabeth.Klages@normandale.edu

Pottery Club

Contact Advisor: Lazare Rottach l Lazare.Rottach@normandale.edu

Programming Club

Meetings: Thursdays from 12-1pm in P1804

Contact Advisor: James Polzin l James.Polzin@normandale.edu

PSEO Club

Meetings: 1st Tuesday of each month 11:30-12:30pm in K1439

Contact Advisor: Justin Martin l Justin.Martin@normandale.edu

Robotics Club

Meetings: Thursdays from 2-3:30pm in K1450

Contact Advisor: Justin Martin l Justin.Martin@normandale.edu

Rocket Club

Meetings: Tuesdays from 3-5pm in S1348

Contact Advisor: Susan Kasahara l Susan.Kasahara@normandale.edu

Russian Cultural and History Club

Meetings: Fridays from 11-12pm K1426

Contact Advisor: Jeffrey Hess l Jeffrey.Hess@normandale.edu

Self-Defense and Martial Arts Club

Meetings: Mondays from 10:30am-12:30pm and Fridays from 2:30-4:30pm in A1560

Contact AdvisorYoshi Satoh l Yoshi.Satoh@normandale.edu

Sigma Chi Eta (Communications Honor Society)

Contact Advisor: Shelly Freese l Shelly.Freese@normandale.edu

Soccer Club

Meetings: Mondays from 2:30-4:30pm and Fridays from 12-2pm at Marsh Lake Fields

Contact Advisor: Doug Claycomb l Douglas.Claycomb@normandale.edu

STEM Club

Meetings: Every other Monday from 10-11am in S1320

Contact Advisor: Susan Kasahara l Susan.Kasahara@normandale.edu

Table Tennis

Meetings: Mondays from 12-2pm in K1450

Contact Advisor: Jay Kam l Jay.Kam@normandale.edu

Tea Club

Contact Advisor: Lisa Rude l Lisa.Rude@normandale.edu

Traditional Gaming Club

Meetings: Wednesdays from 3-5pm in K1450

Contact Advisor: Carol Daniel l Carol.Daniel@normandale.edu

TV Show Club

Meetings: Tuesdays from 3-4pm in K1450

Contact Advisor: Amanda White l Amanda.White@normandale.edu

Veterans Club

Contact Advisor: Justin Martin l Justin.Martin@normandale.edu

Video Game Association

Meetings: Wednesdays 12-2pm and Fridays 3-5pm in K1426

Contact Advisor: Justin Martin l Justin.Martin@normandale.edu

^ top